Blog 5, Week 7

Near the end of Eliot’s “The Waste Land” he writes

“These fragments I have shored against my ruin”.

In the spirit of Eliot’s vision of the world, write a poem or a short prose passage that uses this line as its opening.

 

These fragments I have shored against my ruin

The darkness building up inside of me

The daemons from Rome rising beneath

Yet no one around can understand or see.

Glaring to right the darkness is there

Blanket of stars will not save me now

Squealing women wandering the path

Yelling and screaming being fools

Ladies take a bow!

 

These women taunt me

They have no real purpose

The Bible showed us Eve

The “perfect” woman

That did no good but all harm

Being deceitful

Showing us their charm.

Darkness within me is because of them

Their lying nature tricked us all

Ask poor Adam,

As he took his grand fall.

Now we’re damned for eternity

She is to blame

All women are alike

Eve’s now fanning the flame

 

Her sin is his sin

One that I must carry now

Through the darkness to infernum

It’s all over now

I tried to write in the style of T.S.Elliot and attempted in embody this life experiences of his hatred for women due to his failed marriage. I like how Elliot plays with religious elements within his works because I believe he tries to make references to failures with in history and how he believes women as second level when compared to men. Similar to traditional views of women, I wanted to express a misogynist view of the 1950’s.

2 thoughts on “Blog 5, Week 7

  1. Hi Riley: you have Oz Lit as the menu item at the top of your page. This needs fixing. You need to include 20th Century with drop-down categories. Either see me or another computer geek in class to get this sorted 🙂
    The poem has imaginative power, but there are a few sections where I got lost as to your intentions. For example: “Glaring to right the darkness is there”. I am not sure what this means. Is it a typo??

    EDS
    *Please attend to editing your work carefully. Here is what I have picked up:

    *Glaring to right the darkness is there= ???? Don’t know that this means??
    * Her sin is his is sin= ??? Her sin is his sin [typo?]
    *infernum ??? Does the word exist??
    *T.S.Elliot = T.S.Eliot
    * and attempted in embody this life= ???? and attempted TO embody this life
    * to failures with in history = to failures WITHIN history
    * how he believes women as second level when compared to men.= ???? how he believes women ARE second level when compared to men.

    Like

Leave a comment